Bridgend Ravens
2018 Club Friendlies
Bridgend 36 v 38 Bargoed
25 August 2018 - Morganstone Brewery Field, Bridgend

Match Preview

Team to face Bargoed (H)

Bridgend Ravens welcome Bargoed to the Morganstone Brewery Field for their final pre-season clash on Saturday afternoon (2:30pm).

Bridgend's pre season continued last weekend with a 27-31 home defeat to English National League 2 side Rams RFC. The Rams raced into an impressive first half lead by 10-26, with Bridgend's only try through Will Holley. The Ravens fought back valiantly in the second half with two quick fire scores from Aaron Grabham pulling Bridgend closer. A late Will Barraclough score appeared to give the home side some hope, only to be foiled by the referee's full time whistle. Nonetheless, it was a workout which the coaches will have valued ahead of the all important Principality Premiership campaign.

Bargoed downed the new-look Neath side last weekend by 40-28. Coming from behind, Bargoed took the spoils in the all Premiership affair at Bargoed Park.

The sides met last as recently as May; an open encounter ending 68-35 in favour of the Ravens. Ten tries for the home side, including braces for Connor Tantum and Mike Powell. There's no doubt that Saturday's game will be a lot closer assignment as both sides look to fine tune their preparations for Saturday's league kick off.

Bridgend’s starting line up shows a number of changes from last weekend’s defeat to the Rams. Sam Berbillion, who impressed during the second half, comes in to the back three including Tyler Williams and two try Aaron Grabham. Captain Nathan Edwards returns to partner Stuart Floyd Ellis with Jamie Murphy moving to outside half, pairing up with Chris Williams.

In the forwards, it’s a back row of Tom Morgan, Adam O’Driscoll and Jack Pope. James Little and Chris John are selected in the second row, and the front row comprises Rhodri Apsee, Gareth Harvey and Cai Lewis.

Bridgend Ravens XV: 15. Tyler Williams 14. Aaron Grabham 13. Stuart Floyd Ellis 12. Nathan Edwards 11. Sam Berbillion 10. Jamie Murphy 9. Chris Williams 1. Rhodri Apsee 2. Gareth Harvey 3. Cai Lewis 4. Chris John 5. James Little 6. Jack Pope 7. Adam O’Driscoll 8. Tom Morgan

Replacements (from): Garyn Daniel, Ollie Evans, Rob Jones, Shaun O’Rourke, Aled Evans, Joe Grabham, Dan James, Ryan Evans, Jacob Lloyd, Mike Powell, Morgan Jones, Will Holley & Geraint Roberts.