Bridgend Ravens
2018/2019 Principality Premiership
Bridgend 25 v 20 Llandovery
13 October 2018 - Morganstone Brewery Field, Bridgend

Match Preview

Team to face Llandovery (H)

Bridgend Ravens welcome Llandovery to the Morganstone Brewery Field on Saturday afternoon in a vital Principality Premiership clash (2:30pm).

Both sides come into the game having endured a run of defeats; Bridgend having lost to Ebbw Vale (17-16), Pontypridd (35-44) and Merthyr (38-16), while Llandovery have tasted defeat against Aberavon (26-31) and RGC (24-32). With so much at stake this season, both sides will be keen to get back to winning ways this time out.

It wasn't all doom and gloom for Bridgend during this period. Bonus points were picked up in defeat at Eugene Cross Park and at home to Pontypridd and there were some encouraging signs at the Wern on Friday evening. Bridgend will be looking to create a little bit of history, with success in this fixture firmly on Llandovery's side in this fixture during the last decade. You have to go back to 2008 for the last Bridgend victory over the Drovers - a season that resulted in a double over the men from Church Bank, but also in relegation for the Ravens.

Friday's physical encounter at Merthyr has left its mark on the squad, so opportunity knocks for the wider squad to stake a claim for the rest of the campaign. Jamie Murphy moves to full back after an starting each league game at 10 this season. He's joined by Geraint Roberts, making his Principality Premiership debut, and Mike Powell in the back three. Stuart Floyd Ellis and Nathan Edwards again pair up in midfield, with Ryan Evans and Connor Tantum the half backs.

There's a reshuffle in the pack with Dafi Davies moving back to his more familiar position of No8. Tom Morgan and Adam O'Driscoll provide strength on the flanks; last week's Man of the Match James Little and Chris John are the second row selection. The front row of Rhodri Apsee, Iestyn Merriman and Garyn Daniel go again as Bridgend look to get back to winning ways. 

Bridgend XV: 15. Jamie Murphy 14. Geraint Roberts 13. Stuart Floyd Ellis 12. Nathan Edwards (capt) 11. Mike Powell 10. Ryan Evans 9. Connor Tantum

8. Dafi Davies 7. Adam O'Driscoll 6. Tom Morgan 5. Chris John 4. James Little 3. Garyn Daniel 2. Iestyn Merriman 1. Rhodri Apsee

Replacements: 16. Gareth Harvey 17. Owen Jordan 18. Cai Lewis 19. Jack Pope 20. Matthew John 21. Chris Williams 22. Will Holley 23. Morgan Jones