Bridgend Ravens
2018/2019 Principality Premiership
Bridgend 16 v 13 Aberavon
08 December 2018 - Morganstone Brewery Field, Bridgend

Match Preview

Team to face Aberavon (H)

Matt Silva has named his Bridgend Ravens side that welcome high flying Aberavon to the Morganstone Brewery Field tomorrow (2:30pm).

The Ravens are desperate to get back to winning ways after two damaging defeats against relegation rivals; firstly at home to Bedwas which preceded an away day hammering at Parc y Scarlets. The midway period of the season is approaching and Bridgend know they'll need to be better if they're to retain their top flight status.  

The Wizards currently sit in fourth place with ten wins from their thirteen games. The latest victory saw them defeat RGC at the Talbot Athletic Ground by 15pts to 7 which followed a thumping of Cross Keys at Pandy Park by 19pts to 47. 

The sides met three times last season; with Bridgend coming out on top twice. The first success was a 37-21 October victory at the Morganstone Brewery Field before a final day victory at the Talbot Athletic ground by 14pts to 17. Aberavon are a much improved side this campaign and it'll need a fine performance from the home side to topple them on this occasion.

There's a reshuffle for Bridgend as they look to put recent poor results and performances behind them. Cai Evans switches to full back, in a back three with Ashley Evans and the returning Aaron Grabham. In midfield. Stuart Floyd Ellis partners Nathan Edwards. With Jamie Murphy moving to 10 alongside Chris Williams in the half back positions. 

In the pack, recent addition Jordan Collier moves to No8; with Tom Morgan, making his fiftieth Bridgend appearance, and Adam O'Driscoll as his compatriots. Ben Jones gets a chance to get one over on his old side, pairing with Chris John in the second row. Owen Jordan, Gareth Harvey and Moldovan Gheorge Gaijon are the front row. 

Bridgend XV: 15. Cai Evans 14. Aaron Grabham 13. Stuart Floyd Ellis 12. Nathan Edwards (capt) 11. Ashley Evans 10. Jamie Murphy 9. Chris Williams

1. Owen Jordan 2. Gareth Harvey 3. Gheorge Gaijon  4. Chris John 5. Ben Jones 6. Tom Morgan 7. Adam O'Driscoll 8. Jordan Collier

Replacements: 16. Iestyn Merriman 17. Ollie Evans 18. Garyn Daniel 19. Jack Pope 20. Owain Lloyd 21. Dafi Davies 22. Connor Tantum 23. Dylan Moss