Bridgend Ravens
2018/2019 Principality Premiership
Bridgend 78 v 5 Neath
22 December 2018 - Morganstone Brewery Field, Bridgend

Match Preview

Team to face Neath (H)

Bridgend Ravens welcome basement side Neath to the Morganstone Brewery Field on Saturday afternoon (2:30pm).

The Gnoll side are currently going through the most turbulent period in their illustrious 147 year history. Things look bleak for the All Blacks; they recently survived a winding up order and are currently sat at the bottom of the Principality Premiership. They've been unable to fulfill two of their last three fixtures, with their last two outings comprehensive home defeats to Cardiff by 17pts to 59 and Llanelli 12pts to 69.

The reverse fixture seems a long time ago now and it was the Ravens who triumped at the Gnoll for their fourth win in five games against Neath. A try from Adam O'Driscoll; and a penalty and conversion from Will Holley sealed a tense 7pts to 10 victory for Bridgend that afternoon. Bridgend won all three games against Neath last season; the two games at the Morganstone Brewery Field ended 28pts to 20 and 21pts to 15 in favour of the Ravens. 

There are a few changes to the side which was due to face Cross Keys last time out in a fixture that fell foul to the horrendous rainfall. That cancellation leaves Bridgend with two games in hand on some sides around them, so it's important to back up the win against Aberavon with a similar result this time out. 

In the backs, Cai Evans returns to full back after a cameo for the region in France last weekend. Aaron Grabham and Ashley Evans join him in the back three. The rest of the backs are unchanged; it's Morgan Jones and Nathan Edwards in the centre with Jamie Murphy and Chris Williams the half backs.

Jordan Collier starts at No8 against his former side. Tom Morgan and Adam O'Driscoll pair up on the flanks and Jack Pope and Ben Jones are the second row selection. Owen Jordan, Gareth Harvey and Cai Lewis are the front row. 

Bridgend XV: 15. Cai Evans 14. Aaron Grabham 13. Morgan Jones 12. Nathan Edwards 11. Ashley Evans 10. Jamie Murphy 9. Chris Williams

1. Owen Jordan 2. Gareth Harvey 3. Cai Lewis 4. Jack Pope 5. Ben Jones 6. Tom Morgan 7. Adam O'Driscoll 8. Jordan Collier

Replacements: 16. Iestyn Merriman 17. Ollie Evans 18. Rhodri Apsee 19. Matthew John 20. Aled Evans 21. Connor Tantum 22. Ryan Evans 23. Dylan Moss