Team to face Llanharan (A) - Friendly

By Aled Thomas | 19/04/2017

Bridgend Ravens preparations for the end of season run in continue with a trip to Llanharan in an end of season friendly on Wednesday evening (6:45pm).

The derby clash has been arranged to assist in the Dairymen’s 125th anniversary year celebrations. In the build up to the clash, Team Manager Ed Griffith said that Bridgend are using the tie as an opportunity to continue momentum for the final two league games as well as providing much needed match experience to some younger members of the wider playing group and they’ve certainly stayed true to their word with selection.

There are a number of new faces looking to take their opportunity to impress. At full back, Cardiff Met’s Tyler Williams gets the nod alongside Garin Lougher and Daniel Howells in the back three. Joseph Gatt and Morgan Jones pair up in midfield and Jacob Lloyd again claims the number 10 jersey. Will Baird is selected at half back and makes his fiftieth Bridgend Ravens appearance.

The back row comprises Matthew John, at number 8, Ashton Evans at 6 and debutant Ben Asprea, a product of Porthcawl makes his debut at openside. Owain Lloyd and Pencoed’s Dan Waktins are selected in the second row with Lewis Francis, Huw Wilkes and Cai Lewis the front row.

Bridgend’s replacements are again, a mixture of youth and experience. Tondu’s Jake Lewis, who made his debut against Swansea gets another chance at impressing with Pencoed’s Jack Thomson, Bridgend Athletic's Chris John and Nantyffyllon’s Callum Powell amongst the other new faces. Bridgend supporters will be delighted to see Ryan Griffiths also selected amongst the replacements following a long injury lay off. Ryan made a try scoring return for Heol y Cyw, ironically against Llanharan on the weekend and will continue his rehab this evening.

Bridgend Ravens XV:  15. Tyler Williams 14. Garin Lougher 13. Joseph Gatt 12. Morgan Jones 11. Dan Howells 10. Jacob Lloyd 9. Will Baird

8. Matthew John 7. Ben Asprea 6. Ashton Evans 5. Owain Lloyd  4. Dan Watkins  3. Cai Lewis 2. Huw Wilkes  1. Lewis Francis

Replacements from -

Ollie Evans, Jake Lewis, Iestyn Merriman, Chris John, Jon Howard, Jack Thomson, Connor Tantum, Ryan Evans, Ryan Griffiths, Mike Powell, Callum Powell.

Latest News

  • Llanelli 23-18 Bridgend


    Bridgend Ravens stumbled to a losing bonus point against Llanelli despite their sluggish performance in the midday match-up at Parc Y Scarlets.

  • Team to face Llanelli (a)


    Bridgend Ravens travel to Parc y Scarlets to face Llanelli on Saturday afternoon at the earlier kick off time of 12pm.

  • Ath v Resolven at the Brewery


    There's rugby at the Morganstone Brewery Field on Friday evening when Bridgend Athletic host Resolven.

  • Bridgend 21-19 Swansea


    Bridgend Ravens held on to prevent a late Swansea fightback and secure an important victory over their Ospreylian rivals at the Morganstone Brewery Field.

  • Team to face Swansea (H)


    Bridgend Ravens host Swansea on Saturday at the earlier kick off time at 1pm in a huge Principality Premiership West clash.